Superfund Contacts

The Superfund process works best when the public communicates with agencies responsible for overseeing the technical and decision making process.

The following individuals work on the Butte-area Superfund sites. If you have a concern or comment, citizens should feel free to contact agency representatives. Letters, telephone calls, and emails are excellent ways to contact them, and CTEC encourages the public to be knowledgeable and active in stating concerns and comments.


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

EPA, Region 8, Montana Office, Federal Building
10 West 15th Street, Suite 3200
Helena, MT  59626
866-457-2690
406-457-5000

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 8
Butte Office
400 North Main Street, Room 339
Butte, MT 59701
406-782-7415

  • Julie DalSoglio – EPA Administrator – dalsoglio.julie@epa.gov, 406-457-5025 (Helena)
  • Sara Sparks – EPA Remedial Project Manager for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit – sparks.sara@epa.gov, 406-782-7415 (Butte)
  • Nikia Greene – EPA Remedial Project Manager for Butte Mine Flooding and Rocker – greene.nikia@epa.gov, 406-457-5019 (Helena/Butte)
  • Kristine Edwards – EPA Remedial Project Manager for Warm Spring Ponds – edwards.kristine@epa.gov, 406-457-5021 (Helena)
  • Diana Hammer – EPA Remedial Project Manager for Milltown/Clark Fork River and the Montana Pole and Treating Plant – hammer.diana@epa.gov, 406-457-5040 or 866-457-2690 (Helena)
  • Charles Coleman – EPA Remedial Project Manager for the Anaconda Smelter – coleman.charles@epa.gov, 406-457-5038 or 866-457-2690 (Helena)
  • Peggy Linn – Community Involvement Coordinator
    U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 8
    linn.peggy@epa.gov
    800-227-8917 ext 312-6622

EPA Website for Silver Bow Creek/Butte

*The EPA previously listed a Community Involvement Coordinator for the Butte area, but currently, per the EPA website, no regional or local EPA staff hold such a title.


Montana Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ)

P.O. Box 200901
Helena, MT  59620
406-444-2544

  • Joel Chavez – Streamside Tailings – jchavez@mt.gov, 406-841-5031 or 800-246-8198
  • Joe Griffin – State Project Officer (Butte) – jgriffin@mt.gov, 406-560-6060
  • Daryl Reed - Warm Springs Ponds, Rocker and Butte Mine Flooding - dreed@mt.gov, 406-841-5041
  • Larry Scusa – Federal Superfund Section Supervisor – lscusa@mt.gov, 406-841-5035 or 800-246-8198
  • Brian Bartkowiak – Reclamation Specialist (Anaconda) – BBartkowiak@mt.gov, 406-841-5043
  • Keith Large – Project Officer (Milltown/Clark Fork River) – klarge@mt.gov, 406-841-5039 or 800-246-8198
  • Lisa DeWitt – Project Officer (Montana Pole) – lidewitt.@mt.gov, 406-841-5037 or 800-246-8198

MDEQ Website for Federal Superfund


Montana Natural Resource Damage Program (NRDP)

The Natural Resource Damage Program (NRDP) was created in 1990 as part of the Department of Justice to prepare the State of Montana’s lawsuit against the Atlantic Richfield Co. (ARCO) for injuries to the natural resources in the Upper Clark Fork River Basin (UCFRB). Today, NRDP, with the involvement of the Governor, other government agencies, and area communities, administers funds from portions of the lawsuit that have been settled.

1301 East Lockey
P.O. Box 201425
Helena, MT 59620-1425
406-444-0205
Fax: 406-444-0236
nrdp@mt.gov

  • Pat Cunneen – Environmental Science Specialist (Butte) – pcunneen@mt.gov, 406-533-6882

NRDP Website


Butte-Silver Bow County

155 W. Granite St.
Butte, MT  59701
406-497-6200

Butte-Silver Bow County Website


Political Leaders

Governor Steve Bullock
Office of the Governor
Montana State Capitol Bldg.
P.O. Box 200801
Helena, MT  59620-0801
U.S. Senator Max Baucus
511 Hart Senate Office Bldg. Washington, DC  20510
(202) 224-2651
(202) 224-0515 (Fax)
(800) 332-6106 (from MT)
U.S. Senator Jon Tester
204 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC  20510-2604
(202) 224-2644
(202) 224-8594 fax
U.S. Rep. Denny Rehberg
516 Cannon House Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20515
Ph: 202-225-3211
Fax: 202-225-5687
 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>